||Sundarakanda Slokas ||

Sundarakanda Slokas

Select Sloka Script in Devanagari / Telugu/ Kannada/ Gujarati /English

जयत्यति बलोरामो लक्ष्मणस्य महाबलः
राजा जयति सुग्रीवो राघवेणाधिपालितः॥
दासोहं कौसलेंद्रस्य रामस्य क्लिष्टकर्मणः
हनुमान् शतृसैन्यानां निहंतां मारुतात्मजः॥
न रावण सहस्रं मे युद्धे प्रतिबलं भवेत्।
शिलाभिस्तु प्रहरतः पादपैश्च सहश्रसः॥
अर्थ यित्वा पुरीं लंकां अभिवाद्य च मैथिलीं।
समृद्धार्थो गमिष्यामि मिषतां सर्वरक्षसां॥

These lines are the well known Jaya mantra. There will be not many who have not heard of Jaya mantra in Sundarakanda. Sundarakanda Parayana or recitation is a part of daily prayers for many families.

The daily recitation of Sundarakanda or Sundarakanda Parayana takes many forms. For some people it is just reading the slokas for some time. For some it is reading a particular Sarga like the first Sarga which describes Hanuman crossing the ocean. For some it is the fifteenth Sarga where Hanuman finally sees Sita in Ashoka van. For some it is Twenty Seventh Sarga where Trijata recounts her dream which portends Rama's victory. For some it is Thirty Fifth Sarga which describes Rama's characteristics. For some it is forty Second Sarga which has the Jaya mantra, for yet others it could be Fifty eighth Sarga where Hanuman recounts in his own words what all he did in search of Sita. For many it is simply reading a Sarga every day till one completes the full Sundarakanda of sixty eight Sargas. For some it is reading seven Sargas a day for sixty eight days. at the end of Sixty eight days one would have completed Sundarakanda seven times.

We started this website with Sundarakanda as the main topic of Ramayanam pages.
Initially it was in the form of an abridged Sundarakanda or Sankshipta Sundarakanda. The abridged Sundarakanda of nearly three hundred slokas was easy to read.

It remained in that form for quite a long time.

When a family health crisis was confronted, we planned to present all slokas of all sixty eight Sargas of Sundarakanda in sixty eight days. This was accomplished by presenting seven Sargas every week to complete the presentation of all slokas of sixty eight Sargas in sixty eight days. This page thus has all Slokas for Parayana or recitation purposes.

While creating the Sloka text it was decided to create the Sloka text in multiple languages. So all the Sargas have been presented in Telugu, Devanagari, Gujarati, Kannada and English.

We have also added the Rama Pattabhisheka Sarga , which is considered as a necessary part of any Sundarakanda Parayana.

For this presentation we followed the version of Sundarakanda brought out by Shri Bhashyam Appalaacharyulugaru with his insightful Tattvadipika.

Valmiki Ramayana is the first epic poem written in a very simple style. For those familiar with an Indian language the meaning of the sloka is self evident most of the time. Sundarakanda Parayana or recitation in Sanskrit thus is also meaningful since one is aware of the meaning of the slokas one is reciting.

As the adage goes "May Lord Rama bring peace and happiness to all those who read these Slokas" .

|| Om tat sat ||