|| Sarga 17 ||

|| Tattva Dipika ||

||om tat sat||

Sarga 17

Hanuman in Darsana Dasa

This Sarga starts with the description of the Moon.
In fact Moon has been a silent partner all through the night of search.
The 'search' seen in Sundarakanda parallels the process of realization.

The realization of God goes through several stages.
They are,
श्रवणं( hearing about Supreme being)
मननं( thinking of Supreme being ) ,
ध्यानं ( meditating on the Supreme being) ,
दर्शनं ( being in the presence of Supreme being)
All these stages are seen in Sundarakanda

First we go through the 17th Sarga in brief.

As Hanuman is perched on the Simsupa tree to see Sita,
the blemish less moon who has been lending a helping hand,
rose up in the clear skies,
like a swan swimming through blue waters.

The moon was spreading clear light,
as if with his clear light and cool rays he wanted to serve the son of wind god.

Then Hanuman looked at Sita
whose face is like the full moon,
who is carrying heavy burden of sorrow,
much like a heavy boat in water.

She was surrounded by many Rakshasa women.
Women of many different and terrifying forms.

Hanuman saw the fawn eyed lady covered with soiled and crushed clothes.
He saw Sita with a face showing pathos,
but not dejected by virtue of her husband's prowess.
He saw the lady with black eyes,
protected by her own noble character.

Seeing Maithili the tolerant lady,
with shining limbs,
shining though she is devoid of ornaments,
Hanuman felt immeasurable joy.

Seeing the lady with intoxicating eyes,
Hanuman shed tears of joy.
He paid obeisance to Rama too.

Delighted on being able to see Sita,
having paid obeisance to Rama and Lakshmana,
Hanuman covered himself in the tree.

That is the summary of Sarga 17

The Sarga as already stated starts with the description of the Moon .

Moon is the one that allows us to see things in darkness.
Moon has been a constant companion through the search.
We heard about moon on three occasions

In the Sarga 2 saying
"चंद्रोपिसाचिव्य मिवास्य कुर्वन्' (2-57),
we hear about the rising moon "उत्तिष्टतेनैक सहस्ररश्मिः".

Then saying "मध्यंगतं अंशुमंतं"(5-1)
we hear about the moon in the middle part of the sky in Sarga 5.

Saying "प्रजगाम नभश्चंद्रो"(17-1)
we hear about Moon on the western skies .
It is as though the Moon is right behind Hanuma,
acting as though he is Hanuma's associate in the search .

As stated earlier realization goes through four stages.
श्रवणं( hearing about Supreme being)
मनन ( thinking of supreme being ) ,
ध्यान ( meditating on the supreme being) ,
दर्शन ( being in the presence of Supreme being).

Vanaras and Hanuma hear from Sampati that Sita is in Lanka.
That is "Sravanam".
That was heard in Kishkindha Kanda.

In Sundarakanda we go through the Manana, Dhyana and Darsana stages.

(1) Hanuma starts on a mission to enter Lanka and search for Sita.
This stage starting under skies with full moon,
with Moon himself seemingly helping
as we heard in the Sarga 2 is "Manana" Dasa.

(2) Then Hanuama goes through the search
He comes across many things .
Without letting his focus waver
Hanuma continues the search for Sita.
There we hear saying "मध्यंगतं",
we hear about Moon right at the mid point on the sky.
Here like the disciple following the teachers direction
and focussing on the thing to be focussed
Hanuma continues the search
This is Dhyana Dasa.

(3) There after Hanuma enters the Ashoka Van and gets to see Sita.
Here saying "प्रजगाम नभः चंद्रो",
we hear that Moon has reached the other end.
This is Darsana Dasa .

In these three stages the knowledge will gradually becomes more clear.
In Manana Dasa the knowledge is clear and one moves towards the goal.
In Dhyana Dasa the knowledge is more clear and there is a focus .
Meditation is very focussed.
In Darsana Dasa one has the most clarity and the realization happens. .

As Hanuma goes through the night with Moon acting like a minister
Hanuman reaches the final stage of being able to see Sita.

Hanuma sees many fearsome Rakshasis surrounding Sita .

Their names, which are virtually their descriptions, tells us about them.
They are several of them and several types.
एकाक्षि, एक कर्ण, अकर्ण, शंखुकर्ण, लंबकर्ण, अतिकाय,
ध्वस्त केशि, केशकंबळधारिणि, लंबोदर,
लंबोष्टि, लंबास्य, लंबजानुक .
What does these tell us?
These are all ugly manifestations of the Rajo Tamo gunas.

One more thing.

Many similies have been used in describing Sita.
These are all special for Sita.
स्मृति, सिद्धि, आश, बुद्धि, कीर्ति, पूज, विद्य, वाक् , अग्निशिख.
विद्य, वाक्, कीर्ति etc are names of Lakshmi .

Seeing that Sita, Hanuma was delighted in his heart.

In that delight he pays obeisance to Rama..
His joy overflowed on account being able to see Sita.
He sheds tears of joy.

This is the joy of being in the presence of Supreme being.
And Hanuma is called "Lakshmivan."
And he certainly is.

||om tat sat||
|| This is what we understood from Tattva Dipika of Shri Bhashyam, Appalacharyulu garu"||
|| om tat sat||

||om tat sat||
|| This is what we understood from Tattva Dipika of Shri Bhashyam, Appalacharyulu garu"||
|| om tat sat||