Athato Brahma jignyasaa ! ..

Tatva Bhodha 5 !

Sarira Traya !! ....

With Sanskrit text in Devanagari , Telugu and Kannada

Tatvabhodha 5

In explaining Self or Atma , it is explained that the self is other than three forms of the bodies namely Sthula , Sukshma and karana Sarira. Now the question is about what are these three forms of the body ! This lesson covers the three forms of the body. While explaining the Sthula sarira and Sukshma Sarira a few more words crop up like gyanendriyah and karmendriyah. They also get elaborated !!.

So the text of "Tatvabhodha 5" continues. !!


(1) స్ఠూల శరీరం కిమ్ ?

What is the Gross body ?

పంచీకృత పంచ మహాభూతైః కృతం సత్కర్మ జన్యం
సుఖదుఃఖాది భోగాయతనం శరీరమ్
అస్తి జాయతే వర్ధతే విపరిణమతే అపక్షీయతే వినస్యతీతి
షడ్వికారవదేతత్ స్థూల శరీరమ్ |

That which is made up of five great elements that have undergone the process of panchikarana, born as a result of good actions of the past , the counter of experiences like joy, sorrow etc., and subject to the six modifications namely , to exist to be born, to grow, to mature, to decay and to die is the gross body !

The five great elements are space air fire water and earth. They form the five basic elements of the body when go through the process of panchikarana. Entire elements of the world are constituted by a combination of these five elements. Body being part of this world , it is also similarly made of these five elements. It is perceived by senses, so it is called Sthula. Body is also a thing that disintegrates with time - 'Siryamaanatvaat Sariram' , hence it is called Sariram .

It is born as a result of past actions. Being born in a human form is a result of past good actions. It is a form which experiences happiness and sorrow ( Sukha duhkha ).

It goes through the six stages of existence ( Asthi ), birth ( Jayate ) , growth ( Vardhate) , maturity ( Viparinamate) , decay ( Apakshiyate) and death ( Vinasyati) . When the body disintegrates with death it is called 'panchatvam apuh' . It becomes one with the five elements

(2) సూక్ష్మ శరీరం కిమ్ ?

అపంచీకృత పంచ మహాభూతైః కృతం సత్కర్మజన్యం |
సుఖదుఃఖాదిభోగ సాధనం పంచజ్ఞానేంద్రియాణి పంచకర్మేంద్రియాణి
పంచ ప్రాణాదయః మనస్చైకం బుద్ధిశ్చైకా ఏవం సప్తదసకలాభీః సహ
యత్తిష్ఠతి తత్ సూక్ష్మశరీరమ్ |

What is the subtle body ?

That which is composed of the five great elements which have not undergone grossification, born of good actions of the past, the instrument for the experience of joy, sorrow and so on is the subtle body . Subtle body is constituted of seventeen elements , namely , the five sense organs of action, the five pranas, the mind and the intellect.

The subtle body also consist of the five elements in their basic form , not in the gross form ( panchikruta) as made up of the body . So here the five elements are said to be in their basic form ( Apanchikruta) .

Like the Sthula Sarira , the Sukshma Sarira too is born of good actions of the past.

The Sukshma sarira is the instrument through which the mind actually experiences the joys and sorrows etc.

The Sukshma sarira consists of seventeen elements - namely five sense organs , five organs of action, five pranas and the mind (manas) and the intellect (buddhi) . The mind is the seat of all mental activity based on the five sense organs and five organs of action. The intellect is the one which recognizes , discriminates and prompts action. Thus the subtle body is the cause of all actions.

The discussion on these two types of Sarira namely Sthula Sarira and the Sukshma sarira , brought up two known words pancha gyanendriyaani - pancha karmendriyaani.

Though they are seemingly understood - here is a explanation of what is meant by those two words namely pancha gyanendriyaani - pancha karmendriyaani.

So that follows next.

Pancha gyanendriyaani :

శ్రోత్రం త్వక్ చక్షుః రసనా ఘ్రాణం ఇతి పంచ జ్ఞానేంద్రియాణి |
శ్రోత్రస్య దిక్ దేవతా |
త్వచో వాయుః |
చక్షుః సూర్యః |
రసనాయ వరుణః|
ఘ్రాణస్య అస్వినౌ |
ఇతి జ్ఞానేంద్రియ దేవతాః |
శ్రోత్రస్య విషయః శబ్ద గ్రహణమ్ |
త్వచో విషయః స్పర్శ గ్రహణం |
చక్షుషో విషయః రూప గ్రహణమ్|
రసనాయా విషయః రసగ్రహణమ్ |
ఘ్రాణస్య విషయః గంధగ్రహణమ్ ఇతి |

The five organs of perception are the ears , skin, eyes, tongue, and nose , The presiding deities of the organs are Space of the ears, Air of the Skin, Water of the tongue, Asvini kumaras of the nose.The field of experience of the organs are cognition of the sound for the ears, cognition of the touch for the skin, cognition of the form for the eyes, cognition of the taste for the tongue, cognition of the smell for the nose.

These five sense organs provide us the capacity to hear, feel. see, taste and smell. They also provide us the means of gaining knowledge directly . Hence they are called Gyanendriyaha.

The next to be elaborated are karmendriyaaha!!


వాక్పాణిపాదపాయూపస్థానీతి పంచ కర్మేంద్రియాణి |
వాచో దేవతా వహ్నిః |
హస్తయోః ఇంద్రః |
పాదయోః విష్ణుః |
పాయోః మృత్యుః |
ఉపస్థస్య ప్రజాపతిః |
ఇతి కర్మేంద్రియాణి దేవతాః |
వాచో విషయః భాషణమ్ |
పాణ్యోః విషయః వస్తు గ్రహణమ్ |
పాదయోః విషయః గమనమ్ |
పాయోః విషయః మలత్యాగః |
ఉపస్థస్య విషయః ఆనంద ఇతి |

The five organs of action are speech, the hands, the legs , the anus, and the genitals. The presiding deities of the organs of action are Agni of speech, Indra of hand, Vishnu of the legs, Yama of the anus, and Prajapathi of the genitals. The function of speech is to speak, the function of the hands is to grasp things, the function of the legs is to move, the function of anus is to eliminate the waste and the function of the genitals is pleasure.

The five organs of action are clear and there is no ambiguity .

(3) కారణ శరీరం కిమ్?
అనిర్వాచ్యానాద్యవిద్యారూపం శరీరద్వయస్య కారణమాత్రం సత్స్వరూపాజ్ఞానం |
నిర్వికల్పకరూపమ్ యదస్తి తత్ కారణ శరీరమ్ ||

That which is inexplicable, beginning less , in the form of ignorance, the sole cause of the two bodies ( namely the gross and the subtle), ignorant of one's own true nature , free from duality is the casual body.

While explaining the Atma or self which is other than these three bodies, it is stated that Karana Sarira, the casual body , is the seat of all our inherent tendencies. The good bad and everything !I The same is explained here.

The Karana Sarira is described below :

It is anirvachaniya, indescribable. It is Anaadi without beginning. It is of the form of ignorance, Avidyarupam . It is the sole cause of the two bodies ( Sukshma and Sthula ). It is ignorant of its own true form.

Thus the three forms of the body Sarira- traya are explained .

om tat sat !!