Srimad Bhagavatam

Dasama Skandham !

Or The Tenth Book of Bhagavatam

With Sanskrit text in Telugu , Kannada and Devanagari,

Dasama Skandham - in Bhagavatam :

In these pages we have brought together the Dasama Skandha of Srimad Mahabhagavatam . For many the Dasama Skandha represents the heart of Bhagavatam relating the complete story of Krishna from his birth to the pinnacle. It is the story of Krishna Avatara. The withdrawal of Krishna avatara happens in the eleventh book ! The chapter wise links are available on this page . The listed chapters include all but one Chapter, namely Chapter 87, of Dasama Skandha.!!

A linked summary of Dasamaskandha is also made available


Bhagavatam gives an introduction to the embedded story in the first two chapters of the first Skandha.

इदं भागवतं नाम पुराणं ब्रह्म सम्मितं ।
उत्तम श्लोकचरितं चकार भगवानृषिः ।
निः श्रॆयसाय लॊकस्य धन्यंस्वस्त्ययनं महत् ॥
ఇదం భాగవతం నామ పురాణం బ్రహ్మ సమ్మితం |
ఉత్తమ శ్లోకచరితం చకార భగవానృషిః |
నిః శ్రెయసాయ లొకస్య ధన్యంస్వస్త్యయనం మహత్ ||

“The epic by name Bhagavatam is the narration of the stories of God . It is compiled by Vyasa Deva . It is meant for the ultimate good of all people for their success , bliss and perfection”.

Vyasa Deva taught this to his son Suka Deva , the most respected among all sages , who imbibed the truth of Vedas . Suka Deva in his turn delivered this great story to Maharaj Parikshit , who sat on the banks of Sacred river Ganges awaiting death in an assemblage of sages and wise men . Suka Deva delivered this story in response to the question of Maharaj Parikshit . Parikshit asked Suka Deva what is the most important duty of a man faced with imminent death . What should such a person hear about , repeat , do , remember and worship. In response to that question and numerous other queries of Parikshit , Suka Deva narrated the stories of Bhagavatam .

Among the assembled sages is Suta Mahamuni , who heard the Bhagavatam directly from Suka Deva .

Suta Mahamuni later repeated the Bhagavatam narration which he heard from Suka Deva to another assembly of sages led by Saunaka in the Naimisha forest. Saunaka and other sages assembled in the Naimisha forest , concerned about the welfare of the people in the age of Kali and to perform a chain of sacrifices for the welfare of the people in Kali Yuga . They ask Suta to speak on the essence of Vedas . In response Suta Mahamuni , having heard once directly from Suka Mahamauni , repeats the entire Bhagavatam as the essence of Vedas .

Thus in Bhagavatam we hear two dialogs one of Suta Mahamuni with Saunaka and other sages , and the other dialog between Suka Mahamuni and the Maharaj Parikshit . Suta Mahamuni relates the other dialog between Suka Deva and the Maharaj Parikshit to all the assembled sages led by Saunaka etc.

Among the various story chains the Tenth Skandha narrates the most enchanting story of Lord Krishna , the essence of which is captured in a beautiful sloka :( X31sloka 9 )

तव कधामृतम् तप्तजीवनम्
कविभिरीढितं कल्मषापहम् ।
श्रवण मंगलं श्रीमदात्ततं
भुवि गृणंति तॆ भूरिदा जना ॥

తవ కధామృతమ్ తప్తజీవనమ్
కవిభిరీఢితం కల్మషాపహమ్ |
శ్రవణ మంగలం శ్రీమదాత్తతం
భువి గృణంతి తే భూరిదా జనా ||

"your story which is like Amritam revives the scorched spirit of a man ; purifies a sinner , the holy men thrive on it . To hear it is auspicious and peace generating. Those who chant your name are the real benefactors."

Thus Dasama Skandh in a nutshell is the enchanting story of Krishna !!

We have a chapter wise summary of Dasama Skandha which details all the chapters . The linked list of chapters with tittles is also available on this page for direct navigation.

Some of the key stories of Dasama Skandha or the Book Ten of Bhagavatam are :

Krishna's Birth ,

Putana's Salvation,

Kaliya Moksham,

Raslila, or Gopikas and Krishna

Gopi Vastrapaharanam humbling Gopis,

Govardhanoddharanam Lifting of Govardhan mountain humbling Indra,

Killing of Kamsa ,

Rukmini kalyanam,

The Story of Sudama,

Subhadra Kalyanam ,

Brahma, Vishnu and Maheswara

Krishna The only One !!

That in a nutshell is about the Tenth book of Bhagavatam !!

|| om tat sat ||